Me in 26 letters.

I wanted to post, but don’t have much time before leaving for work..so I decided to whip out the ABC survey that’s been going around the blog world. Anyone that reads this probably doesn’t know much about me aside from being a swimmer, a student and that I struggled with an eating disorder, so I feel like it’s the perfect opportunity to add some variety!

ABC’s of me
A: Age: 21.98 years
B: Bed size: full? my landlords don’t love me enough to provide a queen.
C. Chore you hate: vacuuming. it’s probably the bane of my existence. a chore i love would be washing the dishes! it’s quiet and soothing.
D. Dogs: my family dog is an old, pleasantly plump yellow lab named Candi. I’m hoping to get my own lab soon, but the prospect of med school kind of puts a damper on that.
E. Essential start to your day: coffee and reading blogs, the newspaper, etc.
F. Favorite color: blue
G. Gold or silver: Silver most of the time, but I wear a gold Miraculous Medal (Catholic medal of Mary) everyday. It was my mom’s and she passed it down to me when I was struggling a lot last year.
H: Height: 5′ 4″…and a quarter
I: Instruments that you can play: none!! musically disinclined, thank you very much.
J: Job title: Student/ Sub Shop sandwich artist at Wegman’s
K: Kids: someday
L: Live: Ithaca, NY for school; originally from Hyde Park, NY
M: Mom’s name: Patricia
N: Nicknames: Kim, Kimmy, Kimmer, Kimbo…the list goes on
O: Overnight hospital stays: once when I was around 2 I had surgery on my ears…my tubes fell out or didn’t fall out..or something..I’m still a little hazy on the details. But they had to fix something because I used to get fluid buildup in my ears a lot from sinus infections (I got sick a lot as a kid) and they said my hearing wouldn’t develop correctly if the fluid was there all the time.
P: Pet peeve: unnecessary rudeness. Working in the food industry, I get this all the time. Some people treat you like you are “beneath” them because you are making them a sandwich.
Q: Quote from a movie: “She doesn’t even go to this school!” “Danny Devito? I LOVE YOUR WORK!” Anything from Mean Girls. Used to quote the movie in high school everyday, and watched it many times on bus rides to away swim meets…never gets old.
R: Righty or lefty: Righty
S: Sibling: one younger sister and one older sister
T: Time you wake up: Around 6 am
U: Underwear: any style cotton..lace feels weird.
V: Vegetables you dislike: cauliflower. Recently I was at a japanese place and got vegetable teriyaki. there was something that looked like mashed potatoes on the plate. Naturally, I was intrigued because mashed potatoes didn’t belong. My friend told me to try it, and it was DEF not mashed potatoes. We think it was pureed cauiflower, but it tasted like pureed dirt to me.
W: What makes you run late: sometimes I do this intentionally so I don’t have to endure any awkward silences before classes/meetings start…
X: X-rays: Back for scoliosis, shoulder for a swimming overuse injury, hip, teeth
Y: Yummy food you make: i’m an awesome baker because (like any trained monkey) i follow directions really well.
Z: Zoo favorite animal: penguins are so cool!!! in a zoo definitely my fave. i also really like dolphins and wolves, but most of the zoos around here don’t have any of those..
Anyway, twenty-six facts about me that you didn’t know! And really, it’s just cool to take the time to do these every once in awhile to think about things you normally wouldn’t on a daily basis. I mean, I haven’t thought about penguins in awhile! And the mental image of them happily scuttling across a fake arctic landscape at the zoo brightened my day.
Bonus round: My favorite books are the Harry Potter books, and I’ve read all of them probably around 20 times each (except Chamber of Secrets, which everyone knows sucks). My favorite bands are Dave Matthews Band, Counting Crows, and Coldplay. My favorite food is…anything my dad makes (from awesome fresh Greek food to the best BBQ pulled pork around). And I really want to have two girls, so I can name them Swedish names (Annika and Camila).
That’s all for now! Hope everyone is well. NEDA week is ending today ( I think) and the most important thing I took away from it was that feeling ashamed about an eating disorder only sets us all back; it really is time to talk about it!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me in 26 letters.

  1. Sarah says:

    Great post, Kim! I loved finding out more about you! The Harry Potter books are soooo good, I totally agree! The best series I have ever read : D.

    xxx

  2. Sarah says:

    Hey Kim…Call me creepy, but I still check your blog. I’ve been thinking of you and miss your posts! I hope things are going well for you!

Leave a Reply

