Inside a Box

Here’s a little something I wrote the other day when I was feeling discouraged:

Inside a box there are four corners.

In those four corners stand little squares of space.

In those spaces are places for each of us to run to, to hide in when life is too much.

I don’t want those spaces or corners or the box anymore.

I want a world.

A world with lawns and grass and evergreen trees that maintain their loveliness even in the harshest of winters.

A world with the softest falling snow, the most serene mountains and wind blowing in my face, creeping into my jacket and hat as I enjoy an exhilarating snowboard ride down them.

I want a world with refreshing wet rain, sun that’s bright and hot enough to toast my skin, sand that clumps and crunches under my feet.

I want a world with crackling fire that invites friends and s’mores and laughter.

I want a world with coffee and deep conversations that leave me a better person that I was before.

I want a world with Church and spirit, a world with emotion. A world with challenge.

I want a world with more. I want a world with LIFE.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inside a Box

  1. Carly in Wonderland says:

    You are very talented. Keep working hard and you will get a world, girl!

  2. Sarah says:

    Beautiful! You are very talented, Kim.

    I love how you ended with, “I want a world with life.” That’s so true…I spent a long time thinking that my recovered world would be happiness all the time. But life isn’t happiness all the time, experiencing ups and downs is healthy and it’s a part of life that we must learn to deal with in recovery. I love how this line encompasses that…it doesn’t make recovery seem more perfect than it is/will be : )

    Thanks for sharing!
    Sarah

    • Kim says:

      Thanks so much to both of you πŸ™‚ I really enjoy writing, and it’s so rewarding to here it when other people enjoy your writing too! I write things like this when I’m feeling good about recovery…to help when I’m sort-of on a “down swing” in recovery. It definitely puts things back in perspective when I can see that I *was* hopeful at one point!

  3. Hope says:

    I found your blog through “Bearing, Eating, Being….”‘s blogroll. I LOVE this list. Especially this part: “I want a world with crackling fire that invites friends and s’mores and laughter.

    I want a world with coffee and deep conversations that leave me a better person that I was before.

    I want a world with Church and spirit, a world with emotion. A world with challenge.

    I want a world with more. I want a world with LIFE. ”

    It’s so awesome that I read this today, because while I was working earlier, it occured to me how I am completely capable of creating a world, a life for myself, that’s enjoyable and full of grace and hope and love and beauty. So to read this today is just so encouraging. πŸ™‚

    • Kim says:

      Thanks so much!! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you found it encouraging. It’s helpful for me when I’m having a rough day to look back and remember “hey…I wrote this.” I’ve been having some rough days lately and writing has helped me sort my thoughts and keep perspective! Hope you come back πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

