ED + poetry

This weekend went by oh-so-quickly! We had a marathon swim practice on Saturday morning, followed by a quick trip to the Ithaca Apple Festival and then work at Wegman’s from 3-8. I also worked this morning, then had to go to genetics lab and count lots of flies!

Needless to say…it’s been busy! But I’m not complaining πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I spent this afternoon writing a poem for my Creative Writing class. The assignment was to write an original poem, with the only stipulation being that it must be in sonnet form. My professor also mentioned that sonnets are traditionally about “angry love”…meaning love that is either unrequited or that the speaker cannot engage in anymore.

With that in mind, I wrote about my eating disorder – and so, I’m going to post it here. It was really emotionally rewarding for me to write it (even though it took me almost three hours!) and I think writing poetry for myself is something I’m starting to really enjoy. Here it is:

I starve for your high, icy in my veins

and though it seems impossible to do,

I need to get rid of this toxic bane,

and write, today, an arduous adieu.

I used to lean on you, my broken crutch,

but your many transgressions made this clear:

for the endless boundaries became too much,

for the contemplation in the mirror.

Millions of numbers streamed through my head,

meticulous record of corners cut,

you bereft me of me, left my soul dead,

a war to waste my face, my hair, my gut.

And so, farewell – do not ever come back,

for now I possess the strength I once lacked.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ED + poetry

  1. Jamie (edoutsider) says:

    Wow thats a really good poem! πŸ™‚ So true.

  2. Sarah says:

    I love your poem, absolutely gorgeous. I hope you keep writing after your creative writing class is over, you’re really talented!

    • Kim says:

      Thanks to both of you πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I took this class – it really pushed me to write out of my comfort zone! I never considered writing poetry before the class, but now it’s really therapeutic.

Leave a Reply

