Why I’m here…

I don’t consider myself a writer.

I like writing. I enjoy writing. I write to feel and to escape, to let go and to stand strong.

I write because writing has helped me overcome limitations. My tiny moleskin notebook has been a healthy outlet when I needed one, a good listener that passed no judgment, and a tool for growth during my recovery process.

But that tiny moleskin notebook was just too tiny for what I wanted from my writing. I want to be able to share and grow, and that tiny moleskin notebook was holding me back. I want people to learn from me and I want to learn from people.

So, here I am. My brain is ripe for the picking.

I mentioned recovery before – and what I mean is, I’m in recovery from an ED. For those who may come across this and not know exactly what an ED is – welp, it’s an eating disorder.

That’s right.

Throughout the first 18 years of my life I never payed much attention to what I ate. I was very athletic and had a very strong body. I have been swimming since I was five years old. As much as anyone can be confident during their pre-teen years, I was. I excelled in school, I excelled in any sport imaginable, and I had great relationships with my family and friends.

I continued to succeed in high school, but the faster I got the less I loved swimming. My academics went the same way. I achieved an extremely high GPA, but failed to actually learn. I graduated in 2007 after being recruited to swim at Cornell University and deciding to study biology with a side of pre-med.

Fast-forward three years. I’m now going into my senior year at Cornell, and the past three years have been a whirlwind of life-changing lessons and events.

My reason for starting this blog is to grow. I want to learn more about myself and what makes me…me. I’m slowly and steadily healing my relationship with food, my body, and most important my soul. I’m learning to love myself, one day (and one bite) at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’m here…

  1. muchfruit says:

    Hey Kim, I look forward to reading your blog!

    My mom was a college swimmer in upstate New York and a nursing major, and speaks often of how difficult it was to balance everything. She wasn’t at an Ivy League and she wasn’t premed–I can’t imagine that combination along with a D1 sport! I’m so glad you are exploring some creative outlets in the midst of your busy life. I’ve really found writing to be helpful, not only in processing my emotions and giving me a healthy activity, but also in defining myself differently. I hope you continue to love writing. I’ll be reading!

Leave a Reply

